Silent Summer 2010

The Silent Film Society of Chicago just announced the 2010 lineup for one of our favorite events! It’s the annual Silent Summer Festival (link to be updated soon) at the Portage Theatre on Chicago’s Northwest side.

This year’s schedule looks like this:

July 23: The Freshman (1925) with Harold Lloyd.

July 30: Ben-Hur (1925) starring Ramón Novarro and Francis X. Bushman.

August 6: The Mark of Zorro (1920) with Douglas Fairbanks, accompaniment by the Mont Alto Motion Picture Orchestra.

August 13: The Penalty (1920) with Lon Chaney.

August 20: Harold Teen (1928) with Arthur Lake and Mary Brian.

August 28: Polyanna (1920) with Mary Pickford.

All shows are at the Portage Theatre and start at 8:00 pm. The movies usually have live musical accompaniment by organists Jay Warren and Dennis Scott, and there are often sing-alongs, two-reel comedies, and other fun stuff at each show. More details about each program and ticket information will be on the Society’s web site shortly.